Celebrating the Past. Encouraging The Future.

Celebrating the Past. Encouraging The Future.

Celebrating the Past. Encouraging The Future.Celebrating the Past. Encouraging The Future.Celebrating the Past. Encouraging The Future.

Celebrating the Past. Encouraging The Future.

Celebrating the Past. Encouraging The Future.

Celebrating the Past. Encouraging The Future.Celebrating the Past. Encouraging The Future.Celebrating the Past. Encouraging The Future.




Who We Are & What We Do

The WHS Ex-Students Association - Over 55 Years Strong!

Established in 1961, the WHS Ex-Students Association continues to be the liaison between alumni and Waxahachie High.  Get involved today with a membership, t-shirt purchase, nominations and sponsorship of awards, and promotion of our numerous scholarship programs.  There's no better way to show your support for the Green and White! community-building events, and in-depth training sessions for our volunteers.

Our History


In 1960, Cecil Burton had the idea to put together an alumni organization that would enable WHS ex-students to reunite with classmates and revisit the old school days with each other during Homecoming weekend.  Burton contacted a few of his friends, Bill and Charleene Pitts, Lillian Neal and George Brown about this idea.  Through their combined efforts to maintain ties with their fellow graduates, promote school traditions and pride in the community, they gave birth to this new organization in 1961.  Since then, the Waxahachie Ex-Students' Association has had over 40 presidents, and has given thousands of dollars  in scholarships.  

2020 Board of Directors


Board Officers:

President - Terry Connor (Class of '67)

Vice President - Carolyn Roberts Jenkins (Class of '60)

Secretary - Carrie Turner Lewis (Class of '84)

Treasurer - Cindy Turner Smith (Class of '80)

Board Members:

Bob Aday (1968)  
David Jordan (1978)

Shelley (Green) Raney (1979)

Dolly (Garoutte) Clemmons (1980)
Debbie (Camarillo) Gish (1984)

Chuck Sullins (1984)

Jill Chapman (1987)

Jenny (Thompson) Wilhoite (1990)

Sean Cagle (1991)

Renee McNeal (1998)

Kim (Volentine) Gerich (2004)



Fellow Waxahachie Ex-Students,

 On behalf of the Board of Directors of your Ex-Students’ Association, I would like to thank YOU for making 2019 another record-breaking year. 

As promised, we started out the year in the spring by revising and updating the Association’s bylaws and financial policies. We followed up in the spring with the induction of six new members of the Fine Arts Hall of Fame. We then awarded 13 scholarships to graduating seniors. Two scholarships from the Ex-Students’ Association, one scholarship from the Class of ’69, four 

scholarship awards from the Ex-Students’ Fine Arts, one scholarship from the Dorsey Family, one scholarship in honor of Brett Winn and lastly, four scholarships awarded from the Ex-Students’ Athletic Hall of Fame. The total scholarships awarded on behalf for the Ex-Students’ Association was $18,000. That brings the total scholarship awarded to over $100,000 since 1994. You, as an Association, should be proud.  Because of these scholarships, deserving senior students were able to realize their dream of continuing their education after high school. The scholarship trust account remains in sound condition.  With that being said, I would like to give a special shout out to Iris Wilson and her Class of ‘54 for their generous donation to the Scholarship Fund.  The Class of ’79 donated reunion proceeds to be applied to 2020 scholarship. Thus, “Encouraging the Future”. I encourage all our ex-students to consider donating to any of the causes sponsored by the Association. None of this would be possible without your help.

We began “Celebrating the Past” homecoming week in October. The ceremonies started on Thursday with the induction of five new members of the Athletic Hall of Fame. We then followed up with the homecoming parade Friday afternoon, and the homecoming football game that Friday night. Many “honors” classes held reunion parties on both Friday and Saturday night. I understand that a good time was had by all.

The Ex-Students’ Association annual luncheon was held Saturday in the new high school cafeteria and a record number of alumni attended. At the luncheon, the honor classes voted for and the Association inducted new members into the Hall of Fame and Who’ Who classes for 2019. Also, recognized were two President’s Outstanding Educators and a Humanitarian Award. Congratulations to all award recipients. I also want to point out that many accolades were given to the Board of Directors for their handling of not only the luncheon, but also how the Board operated on behalf of the Association in 2019.

Looking forward to the 2020 season events, it’s time to start considering the “honor” classes’ nominations for Ex-Students’ Who’s Who, Hall of Fame, as well as the Athletic and Fine Arts Hall of Fame (any year is eligible for these two). Nomination forms are available on the Association’s web page.

We had another record-breaking year in new members. We increased membership by a whopping 67%, BUT this is still less than 1% of the WISD graduate population.  We would like to continue to build our association membership.  If you haven’t already done so, please consider joining the Association of your past classmates. The dues are only $15 per year or $100 for a LIFETIME MEMBERSHIP.

At this time, I would like to thank all the members of the Board of Directors for making 2019 a success. I want to welcome new members of the Board of Directors for 2020 and looking forward to making the coming year a continued success of the Association.

I would encourage each Alumni to stay in touch with your former classmates. The Waxahachie Ex-Students’ Association is here to help you to do just that.

Terry Connor, Class of 1967, President


homecoming committee

Co-Chairs:  Debbie (Camarillo) Gish & Carrie (Turner) Lewis

Members:   Terry Connor, Cindy Smith, Shelley Raney, David Jordan, Carolyn Roberts, Polly Williams, Cassie Ortiz, Kim Volentine & Renee McNeal

Scholarship committee

Chair:  Cindy (Turner) Smith

Members:   Dell Andrews, Jill Chapman, Dolly Clemmons, Sean Cagle, Debbie Gish & Renee McNeal

Publications Committee

Chair:  Carrie (Turner) Lewis

 Members:  Jenny Wilhoite, Cassie Ortiz & Kim Volentine

Athletic Hall of Fame Committee

Chair:  Terry Connor

Members:  David Jordan,  Dolly Clemmons, Polly Williams, Jenny Wilhoite & Kim Volentine


Chair:  Sean Cagle

Members:   Carrie Lewis, Renee McNeal, Shelley Raney, Joy Freeman, Margaret Felty  & Jane Ann Shipp 

Honor / Awards Chair

Chair:  Bob Aday

Scholarship Trust Fund Advisor

Chair:  Cindy (Turner) Smith

Outstanding Educator Chair

Chair:  Terry Connor

If you would like to volunteer to be a part of one of these committees, please contact us at INFO@WAXAHACHIEEXSTUDENTS.ORG